Prequalification and Registration Before the Bid
The City of San Diego advertises its capital improvement work through its vendor registration portal and PlanetBids, and its Doing CIP Business page describes hundreds of Capital Improvements Program projects a year. Before a bid counts, the contractor has to clear the City's Contractor Prequalification Program, which rests on San Diego Municipal Code §22.3004(a). The program page says prequalified firms are eligible to bid on City projects for two years, subject to their maximum bidding capacity (MBC).
The bid documents apply the rule to each bid. Instruction 1.1 of the Sunset Cliffs Devonshire Series Circuit Upgrade bid (K-26-2468-DBB-3, bids due March 18, 2026) says bidders must be prequalified for the total amount proposed, including all alternate items, before the date of submittal. The minor construction contract M-26-0133, posted in October 2026, repeats the requirement for contractors providing construction services to the City. The deadlines differ: the program page asks for the application at least 10 City working days before any bid opening, while the Sunset Cliffs instructions say no later than 2 weeks before bid opening. The solicitation in hand governs, so planning around the longer of the two is the safer course. Prequalification decisions rest with the City.
Right-of-way and street work permits for the same projects are a separate process, explained in California encroachment permit bonds.
Bidding Capacity Depends on the Financial Statement
The application asks for a CPA financial statement, a bond letter addressed to The City of San Diego and three client references. The type of financial statement sets the ceiling on the firm's maximum bidding capacity:
- Compiled statement: accepted only from SLBE-certified firms, up to the single-project bond limit or $1 million, whichever is less.
- Reviewed statement: up to the bond limit or $30 million, whichever is less.
- Audited statement: up to the single-project bond limit.
How sureties set single-project and aggregate limits is explained in performance bonds and bonding capacity.
Joint Ventures and the Surety's Bond Letter
Because the bond letter feeds the capacity figure, the surety relationship and the accountant's work product together shape which City projects a firm can pursue. The single-project limit a surety puts in writing is subject to underwriting and can vary by surety and program, and a move from a reviewed to an audited statement is typically planned with the surety before a large bid cycle.
Joint ventures have their own rule. Under instruction 1.4 of the Sunset Cliffs bid, joint venture partners may combine bidding capacity on projects with an engineer's estimate of $30 million or more, and each joint venture entity must be prequalified at a minimum of $15 million. A smaller firm teaming with a larger one still needs its own prequalification at that level.
For the wider picture across public owners, see insurance and bonds for public works contractors.
Bid Security and the Post-Award Clock
Section 19.1 of the Sunset Cliffs instructions calls for bid security on bids of $250,000 and above in the form of an approved corporate surety bond payable to the City of San Diego for not less than 10 percent of the total bid amount. Section 19.4 adds a logistics step: a PDF copy of the bid bond is uploaded to PlanetBids with the bid, and the original is due by 5 p.m. one working day after bid opening.
After award, the document schedule in the same bid gives the bidder 10 working days after it receives the contract forms to deliver the contract bonds and insurance documents. On M-26-0133, section 11.1 asks for insurance certificates and endorsements upon issuance of the City's Notice of Intent to Award. Those windows are short for an endorsement a carrier has not yet issued, so the insurance exhibit is worth reading before the bid goes in.
For how sureties underwrite bid security, see bid bonds.
Contract Bonds Under Whitebook Section 1-7.2
The City's standard terms sit in the Whitebook, its supplement to the Greenbook. The 2024 Whitebook, which the City lists as effective April 1, 2026, sets contract bonds by contract size in section 1-7.2:
- Over $100,000: a payment bond and a faithful performance bond, each for 100 percent of the contract price or task order price.
- Over $25,000 and under $100,000: a 100 percent payment bond, with no performance bond required.
- Over $10,000 and under $25,000: the payment bond is optional, but without one progress payments carry a minimum of 20 percent retention.
Surety Rules, Bond Duration and Edition Dates
Section 1-7.2(1) ties the surety to the funding. On state or local funds the surety must be an admitted surety authorized by the California Department of Insurance (Code of Civil Procedure §995.670), and on federal funds it must be listed in U.S. Treasury Department Circular 570. The surety agent's signature must be notarized. Section 1-7.2(5) keeps the bond in effect until the end of the warranty period set in the contract documents, so the bonded obligation runs past acceptance. On the executed Slurry Seal Group 2626 contract (K-26-2430-DBB-3, gas-tax funded, awarded at $3,538,831.50), the faithful performance bond and the labor and materialmen's bond were each written in the full contract amount.
Bids already in the pipeline can name earlier editions. The Sunset Cliffs documents adopt the 2021 Greenbook and 2021 Whitebook, which pre-date the 2024 edition's April 2026 effective date, so confirm which edition each bid adopts.
Statutory payment bond claims and notices are explained in California public works bond requirements.
Insurance Varies by Contract: What the 2026 Documents Show
The City does not publish one insurance schedule for every job. Each solicitation's Supplementary Special Provisions set the limits, the figures below come from the named documents, and the insurance provisions of the bid in hand control:
- Slurry Seal Group 2626 (bids due January 29, 2026): general liability of $5 million each occurrence and $5 million personal injury, with $10 million general and products-completed operations aggregates; auto of $1 million combined single limit, Any Auto; statutory workers' compensation with employer's liability of $1 million per accident for bodily injury or disease.
- Sunset Cliffs Devonshire (bids due March 18, 2026): general liability of $5 million each occurrence with $10 million general and products-completed operations aggregates, with auto and employer's liability on the slurry seal terms.
- Both 2026 design-bid-build bids: contractors pollution liability of $2 million per claim and $4 million aggregate. The slurry seal contract adds hazardous transporters pollution at $2 million per occurrence and $4 million aggregate and a 12-month extended reporting period on claims-made pollution policies.
- Minor contract M-26-0133 (posted October 2026, $131,501.41 lump sum): general liability of $1 million each occurrence with $2 million general and products-completed operations aggregates, auto of $1 million combined single limit and employer's liability of $1 million.
Claims-made reporting periods and pollution forms are explained in contractors pollution liability insurance.
Carrier Rating, Excess and Coverage Lines Not Found
The slurry seal contract also requires the contractor to maintain the same or equivalent insurance for at least 10 years following completion of the work, carriers rated at least A-, VI by A.M. Best, and nonadmitted carriers only if they appear on the LASLI list. Excess policies must follow the form of the primary policy. Neither 2026 design-bid-build bid required builder's risk or an umbrella, but those terms are set in each solicitation and another contract can require them.
Additional Insured, Primary and Waiver Wording
The endorsement language is consistent across the documents read. The general liability policy must be endorsed to include as an additional insured the City and its elected officials, officers, employees, agents and representatives, for ongoing operations, products, completed operations and premises, limited as Civil Code §2782 and Insurance Code §11580.04 allow. The same wording appears in the Sunset Cliffs bid and in M-26-0133.
M-26-0133 also lists primary and noncontributory coverage, a designated construction project general aggregate limit, a workers' compensation waiver of subrogation in favor of the City and 30 days' notice of material change. Carrier forms word each of these differently, so the endorsement on file can matter as much as the limit. Whether a given endorsement is available is subject to underwriting and can vary by carrier guidelines and programs.
When a contract's limits or completed operations term outgrow an annual program, see project-specific liability insurance.
Warranty, Latent Defects and Retention Release
Whitebook section 3-13.3 requires the contractor to warranty and repair all defective materials and workmanship for 1 year, and it also sets a 10-year period for latent defects and a 4-year period for patent defects. Some items carry longer minimums, such as luminaires with 10 years of manufacturer's warranty. Project provisions can add their own terms; the slurry seal contract calls for surface seal repairs within one year after construction operations are completed.
The Whitebook does not state a retention percentage; it defines retention by reference to the Greenbook, so the percentage is set in each solicitation's contract documents. The Whitebook does state that retention can be released 35 calendar days after the Notice of Completion (3-13.2(5)), that the City pays 6 percent annually on late retention payments (7-3.2) and that final payment requires Consent of Surety and the EOCP Final Summary Report. Local hire terms were not found in the bids read for this page; they are set in each solicitation, alongside the prevailing wage and apprenticeship requirements those bids carry.
For comparison with the State's one-year guarantee period on highway contracts, see Caltrans contract bonds and guarantee terms.
SLBE-ELBE Requirements and the FY2027 Capital Program
The City's Small Local Business Enterprise program shapes bids. The EOC program page says certified SLBE and ELBE firms may qualify for restricted bidding, bid discounts and preference points. Attachment C to the Sunset Cliffs bid sets the thresholds: contracts of $1.5 million and above are Major Public Works Contracts with a mandatory SLBE-ELBE subcontracting requirement unless the bidder shows good faith effort, and contracts over $1 million and under $1.5 million carry a 5 percent bid discount for SLBE-ELBE firms. That project's goals were 0.7 percent SLBE and 2.3 percent ELBE, a 3.0 percent mandatory total under General Conditions §7.1.
The Mayor's message on the FY2027 Adopted Budget puts the Fiscal Year 2027 Capital Improvements Program at $858.1 million within a $6.49 billion total budget. The City's Forecast of Projects to be Awarded, with data as of July 1, 2026, lists an estimated $576,807,208 in FY2027 construction contract awards and $811,451,096 in total project cost, with Public Utilities the largest department at $403,036,702 in construction awards. A forecast can change as projects move, so it serves as a planning tool for bonding capacity rather than a list of awards.
For developer and contractor work across the region, see San Diego construction insurance and bonds.
Before You Ask for a Quote
What to Gather
- The solicitation's Instructions to Bidders, Supplementary Special Provisions and the Greenbook and Whitebook editions it adopts
- Prequalification status, expiration date and maximum bidding capacity
- The CPA financial statement and the surety's bond letter addressed to The City of San Diego
- Three client references for the prequalification application
- Current general liability, auto, workers' compensation, pollution and excess policies with declarations and endorsements
- Each carrier's A.M. Best rating and, for any nonadmitted carrier, its LASLI status
- SLBE and ELBE subcontractor quotes or good faith effort records
What to Ask the Insurer or Surety
- Is our prequalification current, and does our capacity cover the total bid including alternates?
- Does federal money fund the project, and does our surety meet the matching rule?
- Do our limits meet this solicitation's insurance provisions, or only an earlier bid's?
- Are our additional insured, primary and noncontributory and waiver endorsements worded as the City asks?
- Can our completed operations coverage be kept in place for the 10 years one 2026 contract calls for?
- What retention percentage, builder's risk, umbrella and local hire terms does this solicitation set?
Quick Answer
San Diego requires prequalification for the total bid under SDMC §22.3004(a), bid security of at least 10 percent on bids of $250,000 and above in the March 2026 documents cited and 100 percent payment and performance bonds over $100,000 under 2024 Whitebook section 1-7.2, with insurance set contract by contract.
Common Mistake
Assuming one certificate fits every City bid. The 2026 documents range from $1 million each occurrence on a minor contract to $5 million each occurrence with $10 million aggregates and pollution limits on design-bid-build bids.
Broker Perspective
Prequalification and insurance run on separate clocks. The application is due 10 City working days or 2 weeks before bid opening depending on the document, and bonds and insurance are due within 10 working days of receiving the contract forms, so both are worth starting before bid day.
Coverage Impact
The 10-year latent defect period in Whitebook 3-13.3 and one 2026 contract's 10-year requirement to maintain equivalent insurance after completion mean completed operations terms can matter long after acceptance, subject to underwriting and the terms of the bonds and policies issued.
The Same Requirement in Other States
- ADOT Contract Requirements
- Caltrans Contract Requirements
- City of Austin Contract Requirements
- City of Dallas Contract Requirements
- City of Houston Contract Requirements
- City of San Antonio Contract Requirements
- Eastern Municipal Water District
- Flood Control District of Maricopa County
- Harris County Flood Control District
- Las Vegas Valley Water District
- Los Angeles County Flood Control District
- NDOT Contract Requirements
- Texas Municipal Utility Districts
- Truckee Meadows Water Authority
- TxDOT Contract Requirements
Questions Buyers Ask
How long does City of San Diego contractor prequalification last?
The City's program page says prequalified firms are eligible to bid on City projects for two years, subject to their maximum bidding capacity. That capacity depends on the financial statement: up to the lesser of the bond limit and $1 million for compiled statements from SLBE-certified firms, the lesser of the bond limit and $30 million for reviewed statements, and the single-project bond limit for audited statements.
What bid bond does the City of San Diego require?
The Sunset Cliffs Devonshire bid, due March 18, 2026, called for an approved corporate surety bond payable to the City for not less than 10 percent of the total bid on bids of $250,000 and above, uploaded as a PDF with the bid and delivered in original by 5 p.m. one working day after bid opening. Confirm the current requirement in each solicitation.
Does the City of San Diego require a performance bond on every contract?
No. Under 2024 Whitebook section 1-7.2, contracts over $100,000 carry 100 percent payment and faithful performance bonds, contracts over $25,000 and under $100,000 carry only a 100 percent payment bond, and on contracts over $10,000 and under $25,000 the payment bond is optional, with at least 20 percent retention on progress payments if none is furnished.
What surety does San Diego accept on a federally funded contract?
Whitebook section 1-7.2(1) requires a surety listed in U.S. Treasury Department Circular 570 when federal funds are involved. On state or local funds the surety must be an admitted surety authorized by the California Department of Insurance, and in either case the surety agent's signature must be notarized.
How long is the warranty on a City of San Diego construction contract?
Whitebook section 3-13.3 sets a one-year warranty to repair defective materials and workmanship and also states 10 years for latent defects and 4 years for patent defects, with longer minimums on some items such as luminaires. The contract bonds stay in effect until the warranty period in the contract documents ends.
What retention does the City of San Diego hold on construction contracts?
The Whitebook does not state a percentage; it refers to the Greenbook, and the figure is set in each solicitation. It does say retention can be released 35 calendar days after the Notice of Completion and that the City pays 6 percent annually on late retention payments.
Official Sources
- 2024 Whitebook, City Supplement to the 2024 Greenbook (sections 1-7.2, 3-13.2, 3-13.3 and 7-3.2), City of San Diego Engineering & Capital Projects. Contract bond tiers over $10,000, $25,000 and $100,000; 20 percent retention without a payment bond; admitted surety on state or local funds and Treasury Circular 570 on federal funds; notarized agent signature; bond in effect until the end of the warranty period; one-year warranty, 10-year latent and 4-year patent defect periods; retention release 35 calendar days after NOC; 6 percent on late retention; Consent of Surety and EOCP Final Summary Report; retention defined by reference to the Greenbook Verified 2026-10-26.
- Standard Specifications index (Greenbook and Whitebook editions), City of San Diego Engineering & Capital Projects. 2024 Whitebook listed as effective April 1, 2026 Verified 2026-10-26.
- Bid documents, K-26-2468-DBB-3, Sunset Cliffs Devonshire Series Circuit Upgrade (bids due March 18, 2026), City of San Diego. Prequalification for the total bid including alternates; application 2 weeks before bid opening; joint venture capacity at $30 million and $15 million per entity; 10 percent bid security on bids of $250,000 and above, PDF upload and original by 5 p.m. next working day; bonds and insurance within 10 working days of contract forms; SLBE-ELBE thresholds, 5 percent bid discount and 0.7/2.3/3.0 percent goals; $5 million/$10 million liability and $2 million/$4 million pollution; additional insured wording; 2021 Greenbook and Whitebook adopted Verified 2026-10-26.
- Bid and contract documents, K-26-2430-DBB-3, Slurry Seal Group 2626 (bids due January 29, 2026), City of San Diego. Performance and payment bonds each in the $3,538,831.50 contract amount; liability, auto, employer's liability, contractors pollution and hazardous transporters pollution limits; 10-year maintenance of equivalent insurance; A-, VI A.M. Best rating and LASLI list; 12-month extended reporting period; excess follows form; one-year surface seal repair term; no builder's risk or umbrella requirement found Verified 2026-10-26.
- Minor construction contract M-26-0133, Cabling at Miramar Place and Ridgehaven Court, City of San Diego. $1 million/$2 million liability, $1 million auto and employer's liability; additional insured, primary and noncontributory, designated construction project aggregate, waiver of subrogation and 30-day notice; insurance due at Notice of Intent to Award; prequalification for the total amount proposed Verified 2026-10-26.
- Contractor Prequalification Program, City of San Diego. SDMC §22.3004(a); two-year eligibility subject to MBC; CPA financial statement, bond letter and three references; 10 City working days before bid opening; compiled, reviewed and audited capacity tiers Verified 2026-10-26.
- Doing CIP Business, City of San Diego. Vendor registration and PlanetBids; hundreds of CIP projects each year Verified 2026-10-26.
- Small Local Business Enterprise (SLBE) Program, City of San Diego Equal Opportunity Contracting. SLBE and ELBE firms may qualify for restricted bidding, bid discounts and preference points Verified 2026-10-26.
- Mayor's Message, Fiscal Year 2027 Adopted Budget, City of San Diego, Office of the Mayor. FY2027 Capital Improvements Program of $858.1 million; $6.49 billion total adopted budget Verified 2026-10-26.
- Forecast of Projects to be Awarded, FY2027 Adopted Budget, City of San Diego Engineering & Capital Projects. Data as of July 1, 2026: $576,807,208 estimated FY2027 construction awards, $811,451,096 total project cost, Public Utilities $403,036,702 Verified 2026-10-26.
Reviewed by the Principal, Gleason Insurance Brokers, LLCUpdated



